top of page

7 Podcasts by Badass Women You Need to Listen to Now

Updated: Jan 8, 2019



Fun fact about me: If I have my earbuds in, I’m probably listening to a podcast. What better way to get that salty-sweet combination of enlightenment and entertainment? Even better, most of my favorite podcasts happen to be made by #BADASS women.


Podcasting increasingly is becoming a space where women creators shine. They use this still-young medium to tell incredible stories, share unique perspectives, and build engaged digital communities where women support each other wholeheartedly. There’s no shortage of amazing podcasts by badass women out there, but I’ve rounded up my top seven for your listening pleasure -- along a smattering of my favorite episodes to help you get started.


Image credit: How Stuff Works, Stuff Mom Never Told You

Part of the How Stuff Works media network, Stuff Mom Never Told You (SMNTY) keeps it real with research-driven deep dives into the challenges women face today and throughout history, and solutions to further our personal lives, careers, hobbies, and relationships. SMNTY has had numerous hosts over the years, and current host Bridget Todd is a badass, passionate writer, activist, and digital organizer specializing in discussing the intersection of politics and pop culture. Bridget was recently joined by new co-host Anney Reese, and I'm looking forward to becoming ear-bud-buddies with this badass food-and-comic-book-movie nerd as well! Favorite episodes: “Lisa Simpson IRL” and “Problematic Favs: Taylor Swift.



You know that celebrity you’d get tongue-tied around if you ever had the chance to meet? For me, Cristen Conger and Caroline Ervin are those celebrities. This hilarious, hard-hitting duo started their partnership as co-hosts of Stuff Mom Never Told You but moved on in 2017 to found Unladylike. Caroline and Cristen routinely tackle complex subjects (including religion and reproductive rights) with aplomb. Favorite episodes: “How to Be A Boss Witch” and “How to Nanny Up.”




When the world’s got you feeling down and you need your bestie, tune in to long-distance gal pals Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman, the hosts of Call Your Girlfriend. Each episode, Ann and Aminatou discuss the latest news and internet trends with their fiercely feminist perspective, while practicing “Shine Theory” (created by Friedman in her article for The Cut, “Shine Theory: Why Powerful Women Make the Greatest Friends”) and saying exactly what you need to hear. Every time I finish an episode of CYG, I feel warm and fuzzy like I’ve just had a phone call with my best friend (even though I’m totally just talking to myself while driving my car). Favorite episodes: “Millennial Pinkwashing” and “Romp and Circumstance.”


If you’re a super-nerd like me, Feminist Frequency Radio is required listening. Co-hosts Anita Sarkeesian, Ebony Adams, and Carolyn Petit cover pop culture topics across a spectrum of media (film and television, video games, literature, music) from their smart, intersectional, feminist perspectives. Feminist Frequency also produces videos and other media to encourage critical engagement with the media we consume. No joke, my IQ rises several points every time I listen to the newest episode. Plus, I love how Carolyn, Ebony, and Anita lovingly challenge each other and their listeners to see things from different points of view. Favorite episodes: “Our Star Wars Holiday Special” and “You Both Were in My Dreams as Puppies.


Also part of the HowStuffWorks media network, Ethnically Ambiguous is co-hosted by Anna Hossnieh and Shereen Lani Younes, and explores what it’s like to be a modern Middle Easterner living in America. Shereen and Anna blend comedy, smarts, history, and their own experiences to break down Middle Eastern stereotypes, tackle politics, and talk about life. And if the intro doesn’t make you crack up… I’m sorry, but I can’t help you. Favorite episodes: “We Are Historical” and “We Are Dreamers.”




Ok, so I’m not an entrepreneur. But I’m an enormous Emilie Aries fangirl and have been since her days as Bridget Todd’s co-host on Stuff Mom Never Told You. Even if you don’t own your own business, Bossed Up is brimming with smart tips and life-changing career advice. Emilie’s story of becoming her own boss — she is the founder and CEO of Bossed Up — is inspiring, and she shares her wisdom and interviews guests like Maggie Germano and Sarah Green Carmichael about the challenges and triumphs of the female entrepreneurship experience. Favorite episodes: “When Is It Time to Quit?” and “I Started My Company — Now What?


As a ravenous consumer of pop culture and the oldest of three sisters (and one brother), I can’t get enough of Still Buffering. This delightful podcast is co-hosted by three sisters (Sydnee McElroy, Teylor Smirl, and Rileigh Smirl), the youngest of which is wrapping up her senior year of high school. The sisters get together to discuss topics teens have faced for generations and how things have changed — or stayed the same. Subjects range from school dances and makeup to sexism and safe dating. Plus, you’ll laugh your face off — promise. Favorite episodes: “How to Malls” and “How to Periods.”



813 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page